There has been a sudden increase in people that follow a gluten free diet. People today have become more conscious and aware of their eating habits than in the past. There have been studies that show that gluten can cause several health problems in certain people. Coeliac disease has emerged to be one of the most common diseases that can be caused by consuming gluten food items. It is a lifelong autoimmune disease that occurs because of the immune system reaction to the gluten rich food. Gluten is a protein that is found in wheat, flour, barley as well as rye. People who have been diagnosed with the disease or those that have sensitivity to gluten should follow a gluten free diet for marinating their health.
The best treatment for sensitivity to gluten is shifting to food items that are gluten free and do not cause inflammation and react with the immune system. Many people that shift to a gluten free diet may find it quite difficult to get accustomed with the diet plans; however, following gluten free diet is extremely simple as there are several options available that can be perfect replacements for gluten rich food. With the correct knowledge, people can easily shift and adapt to the gluten free diet. In this page, you will find some tips to follow when considering following a gluten free diet.
Try gluten free substitutes
When it comes to gluten food items, pasta, bread, pastries, crackers contain gluten and can be a cause of worry for those that are gluten intolerant. Though these food items are not to be consumed by those on gluten free diet, one can still enjoy these items. However, these food items should be prepared using gluten free ingredients. Switch to the gluten-free alternatives when it comes to your favorite foods. These alternatives are cheap and available in almost all supermarkets and food stores. Some of the gluten-free substitutes for foods may include pasta, bread and crackers made out of maize or cornmeal.
Grains and cereals for meals
When you start following gluten free diet, you should not exclude all types of cereals and grains from your diet. Some of the grains can still be consumed by people on a gluten-free diet and they may include quinoa, teff, amaranth, buckwheat, corn, tapioca, and more. While shopping, the house must check the ingredients list and labels to make sure they are not adulterated and contaminated. Regular traditional breadcrumbs can be replaced with polenta crumbs. Instead of purchasing the normal pasta, you can purchase rice noodles. Quinoa can be used for gluten-free baking.
Fresh fruits, meat and vegetables
When on a gluten-free diet, it is essential to get all the essential vitamins and nutrients through vegetables and fruits. Make sure to include berries, fruits, and vegetables in your diet. Adding chicken and fish to meals and diet is also important. Whatever you purchase for your meals should be freshly bought from the market.
People in a gluten-free diet can also consume alcohol, but with limitations. Some of the suitable options in this page are cider, wine, sherry, port and liqueurs. You should note that beer, stouts and ales may contain gluten, and hence, they should be avoided to follow a gluten-free diet. You may find gluten-free beers in supermarkets and restaurants, however, always check the labels before the purchase.